Organic Research & Training Center (ORTC), Bylakuppe

< Prev  | Next >


Organic Research & Training Centre

A unit of His Holiness the Dalai Lama's
Central Tibetan Relief Committee (CTRC)

A Brief Introduction:

With approval and sanction from the state Government in favour of the appeal mad by the farming section of Tibetan Cooperative Society Bylakuppe about the need of land for self reliant occupation, which was promoted by then district administration in 1970, a large area of land measuring 90 acres was allotted. Since the cooperative Society undertook the responsibility to sustain the farming activities. However, in view of the nature of the farming, activities connected with the farmers and consideration, the Department of Home-CTA came forward to continue the agriculture whose primarily objective to provide adequate technical support for the farmers on the heel of taking over estates from SOS TCV Bylakuppe on 25th August, 1999.

Since the formation of new policy by the Department of Home-CTA in 2002, which encourages farmers in our community to gradually switch over to organic farming and to follow the natural system of cultivation. The farmers have implemented the policy by strictly using the natural fertilizers. And in view of keeping with names of this project, the old name Tibetan Farm Project has been renamed by Department of Home as Organic Research & Training Centre.

With the decision to bring all the administrative affair and projects of the units under the purview of Central Tibetan Relief Committee, this Centre is having 4 permanent and 4 temporary staff to carry out the Organic Farming.

Organic farming activities carried out in ORTC

Facilities available at the Center

Plan of Action on priority bases:

Head Office:
Department of Home
Central Tibetan Administration
P.O. Dharamshala - 176215
Distt. Kangra,
Himachal Pradesh

Tel: 91-1892-222214/222412

Branch Office:
Organic Research & Training Centre,
P.O. Bylakuppe - 571104,
Distt. Mysore,
Karnataka State

Tel: 91-08223-258493/258783

« Back to Agriculture Division