Learn about the population, facilities, livelihood and more about all the Tibetan Settlements and Communities in India, Nepal And Bhutan.

Tibetan Refugee Settlements:

Soon after the first refugees started coming to India, the Department of Home was established to coordinate the immediate relief assistance for them and to find a long term solution for the resettlement of refugees. The resettlement of refugees also involves providing basic amenities and adequate source of livelihood.


Towards the end, the Department of Home has established 58 Tibetan settlement in India, Nepal, Bhutan and the welfare and interests of these settlements are looked after by their respective Representative or welfare officers. The settlements are primarily assisted by the Government of India and other voluntary aid organizations.

Out of the 58 settlements there are 39 major and minor settlements in India, 12 in Nepal and 7 in Bhutan based either on agriculture or Agro industries or Handicrafts as listed under.

Types of Tibetan Settlements in Bhutan:

Problems and goals:

One of the greatest problem in the settlements is that there is an undergrowth of population within the community and on top of that lots of existing Tibetans in India are migrating to western countries in pursuit of higher pay. Moreover the number of Tibetans fleeing from Tibet has highly reduced owing to the strict restrictions imposed on travel. The goal now is to provide more opportunities and facilities to the Tibetans and more importantly to the youths in order to enable them to be self reliant and also to have them contribute towards the cause of Tibet by serving in the exile Tibetan community in India.